Please like us on Facebook
Important Information on Elijah's Law
In 2019 Elijah’s Law was signed into legislation. The law is named after 3-year-old Elijah Silvera from New York City who was given a grilled cheese sandwich while at day care despite having a known severe dairy allergy. After Elijah went into anaphylaxis, his family was not told what he had eaten and 911 was not called. Elijah died in November of 2017.
Elijah’s Law requires all child care programs to be in compliance with Elijah’s Law by September 15, 2021. Below are some documents that will provide additional information on Elijah’s law, a sample document that may be used to create your own Allergy and Anaphylaxis policy, the OCFS Dear Provider Letter, and the updated pages to the health care plan for each modality of care. The complete health care plans can be found on the OCFS website by clicking here.
For information on how to become a registered or licensed child care provider, click here.
For information on the New York State Office of Children and Family Services training requirements, click here.
For more information on technical assistance and intensive assistance, click here.
For information on the importance of professionalism in early care and education, click here.
The Child and Adult Care Food Program, is a federally funded program of the United States Department of Agriculture, The Child and Adult Care Food Program provides funding so child care providers can be trained in good nutrition practices and provide children age 12 years and younger nutritious, well-balanced meals. The Child and Adult Care Food Program offers payments to registered and licensed family day care providers and enrolled legally-exempt child care providers for meals served to children in their care. The meals must meet the nutritional standards set up by the United States Department of Agriculture. Nutrition education and assistance with menu planning is also provided through in – home visits and workshops. "This institution is an equal opportunity provider."
For more information on the Child and Adult Care Food Program, please contact the Community Child Care Clearinghouse of Niagara at 716-285-8572 or 1-800-701-4KID.
New York State registered and licensed child care providers, alternate providers and substitute providers are mandated reporters of child abuse and maltreatment and must report any suspected incidents of child abuse or maltreatment concerning a child receiving child day care to the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment at 1-800-635-1522. To obtain a copy of the Report of Suspected Child Abuse or Maltreatment form please click on the forms tab in this website or contact your licensor or registrar. Remember that within forty-eight hours after reporting an incident of child abuse or maltreatment to the mandated reporter hotline, a written copy of the Report of Suspected Child Abuse or Maltreatment form must be submitted to the Niagara County Department of Social Services, Child Protective Service Unit. The address for the Niagara County Child Protective Service Unit is, NCDSS, PO Box 865, 301 10th Street, Niagara Falls, NY, 14302-0865.
Carbon Monoxide Detector Requirements - In order to comply with Amanda’s Law, a minimum of one carbon monoxide detector must be installed in every home where there is a carbon monoxide source, defined as any appliance or system that may emit carbon monoxide, a fireplace, or a building with an attached garage, or other motor vehicle related occupancies. Per the amended New York State Fire Prevention and Building Code, in existing residences (constructed before 1/1/08) with a carbon monoxide source, a carbon monoxide detector must be installed on the lowest story having a sleeping area. Because the areas used for napping in Family Day Care and Group Family Day Care are often not on the floor where the provider’s family sleeps, it is highly recommended that one unit be installed on each floor of the residence on which there is either a sleeping area or carbon monoxide source. This recommendation is based on the requirements in place for new construction and is made in consideration of promoting the safety of both children in care as well as the families of providers. In existing homes constructed prior to January 1, 2008, battery-operated units are acceptable and are not required to be interconnected. Homes constructed after that date should already have hard-wired, interconnected systems, as required by code.
Health Care Plans - Every registered and licensed child care program must prepare a health care plan on forms furnished by the Office of Children and Family Services or approved equivalents. Such plan must protect and promote the heath of children. The health care plan must be on site, followed by the caregivers and available upon demand by a parent or guardian or the Office. Where the provider will administer medications, the health care plan must also be approved by the program’s health care consultant. Each program in Niagara County may be eligible for Health Care Consultant services free of charge though the Community Child Care Clearinghouse of Niagara. For information on obtaining a Health Care consultant though the Community Child Care Clearinghouse of Niagara please call 716-285-8572 or 1-800-701-4KID.
Provider's Lending Library - Providers can borrow materials on child development, health and safety, discipline, business, cultural sensitivity and other subjects. The provider lending library also has magazines, children’s books, games, children’s CDs, curriculum kits and other items that can enhance a child care program. Items may be borrowed for up to one month. The Community Child Care Clearinghouse of Niagara offers this service free of charge to registered and licensed child care providers. For an appointment to borrow items from the provider lending library please contact the Community Child Care Clearinghouse of Niagara.
Lead Screening - The attachment contains information for child care providers on Lead Screening requirements distributed by the New York State Department of Health. What Child Care Providers Need to Know about Lead.pdf
Obtaining an Employer Identification Number - Providers may obtain an Employer Identification Number by calling 1-800-829-4933 or by visiting the Internal Revenue Service website located in the Links section of this website and downloading a SS-4 form. An Employer Identification Number may be used in place of a provider’s social security number for parents who are claiming a child care credit on their taxes.